No announcement available or all announcement expired.

Home » History


The Rt. Revd Enos Nuttall, Founder of St Hugh’s schools. Photo from the National Library of Jamaica website

St Hugh’s Preparatory School was founded in 1899 by the Rt. Rev. Enos Nuttall, who served as Bishop of Jamaica from 1880 to 1916, and as the first Archbishop of the West Indies, from 1893 to 1916.

The school did not acquire its present name however, until more than half a century later, as it was first known as the Deaconess Home School. The preparatory Division was relocated to its present site at 1 Tom Redcam Drive in 1959, while the secondary division became known as St Hugh’s High School for Girls. The Prep school was designed by the nation’s Chief Town Planner at the time and Architect Bill Hodges. Miss Dorothy Whitfield served as the first headmistress under this new dispensation.

St. Hugh’s is named after a French man, the Patron saint Hugh of Lincoln who was born in France at Avalon in Burgundy. In 1160, St Hugh became a Priest. He was invited by King Henry to minister in England, and in 1186 was elected Bishop of Lincoln. The Bishop, who was known for his kindness to people and animals reportedly kept a pet swan with which he had an uncommon relationship. Swans are generally fierce but this one was different. St Hugh was renowned for bringing the best out of pets and animals, and his character demonstrated great tact and energy. His loyalty to God and Church never faltered. This enduring symbol of a swan, encouraged by kindness, goodness and loyalty now stands as the symbol of the St Hugh’s schools. The school’s emblem – the white swan on a blue shield – reminds us of the loyalty and goodness of our Patron Saint and holds before our children ideals for which they should strive all of their lives.



You can be the first one to leave a comment.


Leave a Comment